Posted in Random Poems I Find Meaningful

If I Died Today

People come and go exactly when they’re supposed to. For some of us, it may be years in the future. For some, it could be moments away. So, I just thought, if my time came, how would I greet death? How about my funeral? What kind of story did I want to leave behind?

If I Died Today
By: Anita Marie

If I died today, instead of black, I want everyone in pink
Instead of a eulogy, I want a room full of music
If I had to hold flowers, I want them to be roses
And when I close my eyes, I want my favorite dark brown eyeliner on them

If I died today, I want it to be because I outlived my legacy
Because of a lack of sleep and a worn out resiliency
Passion is dangerous and ambition is too
But I swear I’d rather die trying to reach them

If I died today, my mom would be filled with worry
And I’d want my organs taken out in a hurry
To heal all those who I’ve never met before
To give them the second chance I never got to have

If I died today, I want one last chance to show the world who I am
My corpse would be burnt for reasons my loved ones would understand
My ashes buried with a tree seedling ready to grow
From my ashes, new life will rise giving meaning to this world

Leave a Reply

