Posted in Random Poems I Find Meaningful

Chocolates

I love chocolates. I’ve loved them ever since I was a child and my aunt always never fail to spoil me with them. So, why chocolates? Well, I just got a new bunch from my aunt and this poem will tell you how chocolates are just more than just a sweet treat to me. Enjoy the chocolates!

Chocolates
By: Anita Marie

My aunt often sent me chocolates
As a toddler, they were heaven
A reason to smile while binge eating them
I’d take a piece and savor the sugar
Then one by one I start to devour another

My aunt loved sending me chocolates
As a kid, I carefully hid my share
From itchy hands and greedy stares
How selfish I was to keep them to myself
Loving how I had to finish them all without help

My aunt really can’t stop sending me chocolates
Approaching my teens, it never bothered me
I’d eat them all without caring about my belly
My mother always told me, “in moderation”
But I can’t ignore the chocolate’s temptations

My aunt still sends me chocolates
As a teen, it was what I was known for
The crazy pink girl and a chocolate whore
But this time I learned to share with my friends
Because chocolates are better with a happy moment

My aunt sent me chocolates, again
Early adulthood, I realized was not a place for them
It’s sweet and full of innocence with a dangerous trend
It’s when I realized that life can be a burst of flavor
Definitely not like the chocolates I used to savor

But I, now, know why my aunt sent me chocolates all the time
When I hit my all time low in my young life
Lonely I was without signs of light
But chocolate was there to remind me of my childhood
The happy days of was, is, and would

My aunt was great for sending me chocolates
In happiness, they’re there to celebrate
In loneliness, they’re there to consolate
In success, they’re there to congratulate
And in sadness, they’re there to brighten my day

Author:

A wanderer lost in an adventure.

Leave a Reply

